Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Meet our team members

REGROUP is conducted by a consortium of 14 internationally renowned institutions, committed to scholarly excellence, inclusiveness, and open science. The project is coordinated by the University of Groningen, and advised by a board of ten established scholars and practitioners.


Scientific coordinator: Piero Tortola, Associate Professor of European politics and society.
Assistant coordinator: Benjamin Leruth, Assistant Professor of European politics and society.
Project and dissemination manager: Elsbeth Bembom

Team members: Léonie de Jonge, Elizaveta Gaufman, Greg Fuller, and Martijn Schoonvelde.

Project partners

Advisory Board

Professor and Director of the One Health Centre of Excellence at the University of Florida; Former Member of the Italian Parliament

Professor, Centre for Deliberative Democracy and Global Governance, University of Canberra

Director of Programmes and Member of the Board of Directors, Oxfam Novib

Representative for Cyber Policy, Federal Foreign Office, Germany

Professor of Sociology; former Member for the European Parliament; former Minister of Science and Education, Poland

President of the European Policy Centre; Emeritus Professor of Political Science, European University Institute

Secretary General, SOLIDAR and SOLIDAR Foundation

Professor of Political Science, LUISS Guido Carli; former President, European University Institute; former President of the S. Anna School, Pisa

Professor of International Relations, Université libre de Bruxelles and LUISS Guido Carli; member of the Royal Academies for Science and the Arts of Belgium

Professor of Politics and Data Science; Director, Center for Social Media and Politics, New York University